top of page

Crowning A Queen


My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style. -Maya Angelou

This beautiful Quote from the great late Maya Angelou has always spoke volumes to my heart. What does it mean to survive? what does it mean to thrive? what does it mean to nearly exist? One of my greatest fears is becoming someone that just survives, just living to get through with my day to day. That my loves is something that i can not do. I mean I am a successful author, can't write a book now a days to save my soul lol, but i have lived long enough to know that surviving is something that i can not simply do. I can not wake up every day to survive, to just go to work, come home, and sleep. I must make a difference, i must touch someones life, i must touch their soul, i must make them feel a sense of belonging, a sense of ease and welcoming. I want to show people love, i want to show them justice, and i want to show them peace.

When i became a author in 2006 i didn't know what the hell i was doing. I was merely writing to write. I knew i had a story to tell, because here I was this 18 year old girl from Richmond ca, and i had dreams bigger than i could hold. I had visions of becoming someone that started a revolution. I wanted to rebound the black panther party and regroup ideas, reform our culture and make the future for the youth positive. I want to do that and more, i want to wake up each day happy, with a smile on, i want when my son gets to high school and he is making a life choice to think about me and the choices i made to make him the greatest ever. I want to live, i want to laugh, i want to be free. I want to be a queen.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page